Part Design Help

Hello 

First of all, being new here and not knowing this forum well (I'm more of a regular on the machining forum) I apologize in advance if my request does not correspond to the idea of the forum.

My name is Thomas , originally from Thiers in the Puy de Dôme.

I started making aluminum motorcycle master cylinders (part that contains the brake fluid as well as a piston and which allows by a displacement of fluid to the caliper and more precisely to its piston(s) to stick the brake pads on its disc and therefore to brake the wheel). When I say artisanal manufacturing I mean without the use of NC, most of the part is done in a foundry and all the machining part on a conventional machine. 

Until now I made my molds out of sand but I would like to switch to steel molds. 

That's it for the technical start.

So I have to draw the "part" and then deduce the mold under Solid. The problem is that I'm not a SolidWorks expert. I used the program in high school and I get by with fairly simple parts but I don't master the surface at all. My piece is made up of multiple curves that go a little in all directions and it is beyond my level. Photos of the room are attached.

Do you think I can design the part without going through surface and using only the creation or removal of material functions?

d771539f-9fe2-4594-b641-cfaa88f168b2.jpeg

Hello
We should be able to do something similar. Doesn't the exterior need a lot of precision?
I allow myself the question: Why make your own master cylinders?
I'm not far from you. ;-)

Kind regards.

3 Likes

Yes, it is quite possible to create this piece in volume

@ remrem Really has all the skills for this type of piece

@+

1 Like

Hello