Solidworks assembly how do you give a set?

Hello

I'm a beginner on Solidworks and I'm modeling a wooden frame for a vintage car, I found that to put under stress you had to be precise 3 digits after the decimal point (mm).

I don't need such precision, can we change the margin of error to, for example, 2 digits after the decimal point or simply to the mm...

it makes me waste a lot of time all this precision...

Thanks in advance,

Hello@mickauzet

No need for precision because it does not influence the constraints. The constraints are between two sides.

The clearance is only used in specific cases, for example for a tenon and a slide or for stresses in a slotted hole if a workpiece slides into the slotted hole. But for ordinary constraints, there is no need for precision.

If you think I didn't understand, can you take a screenshot of the case that is bothering you.

Kind regards

1 Like

yet it's at 0 two digits after the decimal point

exemple2.png

I would like to attach the two pieces to the vertical piece... but there is a tinker....

exemple.png

Right view with top constraint (one point)

exemple3.png

SW doesn't like, not to say hate, overstrain.
Your front bow will therefore be constrained via a coaxiality on one of the rounds of one of the tenons, a parallelism between 2 flat faces and a constraint between a vertex of the reinforcement and the face of the "right rear" piece.
If you are looking to put other conduits, SW will indicate an error due to the fact that your "right rear" piece is bent. Then you should see how you made the mortises in this room.

1 Like

Hello Mick

I believe that we should not make the mistake of over-constraining because it is useless from the point of view of drawing and assembling the sub-assemblies. Simply because you're not in real life or a room can bend slightly if necessary.