Choosing Software

Hello everyone,

I'm a beginner in CAD, I'm a piano builder.

I'm going to develop an instrument, but there's about 20 tons of horizontal pressure from the taut strings.

I use Solidworks for drawing (I'm a beginner, I would need a good training) and I would like to know what would be the best software (or solidworks patch) to calculate and design the metal frame that will resist this tension.

A friend told me about a software that would nibble away at the useless parts of the frame on its own so that only what was useful remained.

Thank you for your answers.

Youngest child

SolidWorks is quite capable of optimizing a design

See this video among others

https://www.3ds.com/fr/produits-et-services/solidworks/solutions-par-industrie/verification-de-conception-et-analyse/

@+

6 Likes

The complete calculation of SolidWorks is "Simulation"

Depending on your version, you may have it

5 Likes

See also this video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?NR=1&v=Iw35bJgHdwk&feature=endscreen

@+

2 Likes

In pictures:

2 Likes

Hello to you,

Thank you for your answers, I had a sales representative on the phone who told me that there are several versions of the simulation tool.

A priori the latter do not follow the versions of solidworks standard does not especially have the standard simulation.

Are there cheaper competing plug-ins? Because he offers me the premium simulation which is worth the trifle of 15,000 €.

I'm not savvy enough to know which version is right for me...

Thank you

In fact there is SW Simulation Express and SW simulation.

SW Simulation Express is included in SW standard but is very basic. It just allows you to briefly validate  a sizing.

SW Simulation is part of SW Premium (and maybe Pro) but can indeed be acquired separately (I'm not sure it's interesting).

From a user point of view, Express is easy to use, Simu is very complete and requires specific training (in addition to having the basic knowledge in the field of calculation).