Choosing a spring for a compactor

Hi all

As part of a school project, I have to design a 33cl can compactor. For the moment I am studying different systems (connecting rod/crank, eccentric, cam, etc...). I'm currently working on a cam system: the cam pushes the push rod which itself will crush the bobbin... In order to keep the roller in contact with the cam, I plan 2 springs. But I have trouble determining by calculation on the one hand the springs I need, then to determine the force needed both to compact the bobbin and the force necessary to tension the 2 springs. 

To crush the can, I start with a force of 1500 N. To this force, I have to add a force F for the springs, but I don't know how to determine it... The stroke that compacts the bobbin is 90 mm.

Is my reasoning correct? Ps: I'm attaching a screenshot.

Thank you in advance for the help you can give me.

Happy confinement to all.

Kind regards

Fabrice

excentrique_ressort_1.png

That's an interesting question.
I will take a closer look at it.

1 Like

There was this post that gave interesting information about springs:

https://www.lynkoa.com/forum/solidworks/dimensionnement-ressort

1 Like

Hello Fabrice

Since you choose a cam, I believe that you complicate yourself Covid, sorry, complicate your life.
All you have to do is make a cam path so the round trip is insured without spring, which simplifies your design. Also, if you put a cam path on top and underneath your push rod will still be centered with my stress on the axles.

Moreover, 1500 N is totally excessive, 60 N is more than enough for three reasons.
From the moment you use an eccentric (a connecting rod or a cam), the force increases to an infinite force (within the limit of the RDM).