Symmetry part copying

Hello everyone

I would like to achieve the symmetry of a piece with a new number while keeping the links between them. (if I modify the "mother" piece I would like the other one to follow)

Is this possible? Thank you in advance for your contribution

Joce

P.S. I'm on SW2013SP05

When you create a symmetrical part in Solidworks you can choose its name without any problem.

Could you explain the problem to me more specifically?

1 Like

See attachment!

I would like to create another piece (new issue, new volume) using a symmetry function (if possible) and be able to keep the links between them.

I can very well copy/paste this part and modify my functions but if I modify the first one I am forced to modify the second one later. If I can avoid doing 2 operations instead of one, it's all good

capture.jpg

Have you tried in configuration? 

I'm not an expert (I always forget how to do the symmetry...) But I have parts that I made and then made the symmetry and depending on the configuration where I am I have one or the other. 

Symmetry is a function not a surface.

In my properties each config has the number of parts but the whole file has a number of its own

e.g. file 930 config A 931, B 932

and thanks to that when I modify config A, config B follows.

If I want to differentiate the parts, then I save the symmetry separately (extract the B config basically).

There are probably simpler things but it works for the moment.

You can do this via assembly. You make a symmetry of your first part by selecting "create symmetrical version" in the options.

Afterwards, it will create a room for you: partsymmetry1.sldprt that you will be able to open and rename.

I don't think that's the only solution, but it works

3 Likes

It automatically saves it to you in the same folder as the first one by the way

In your original piece, you select a plane or flat face that you want to use as a plane of symmetry. And you do Insert / Symmetrical piece...