Stress-strain curve - Inability to find the same behavior by performing simulations

Hello

I am a student and I work on the simulation of tensile tests on SolidWorks to anticipate the behavior of new composite materials. My primary objective is to find the same results between tensile tests that have been carried out in the laboratory and tests that I will carry out on SolidWorks.

I carry out these tests on a simple bar:

Unfortunately I don't find the same results when going through SolidWorks. Thinking this was the data I was entering for my material, I used one from the SolidWorks library.

After many tests, I don't understand why I can't find exactly the same stress-strain curve that entered into the characteristics of the material.

I'm working on SolidWorks 2017. I perform non-linear, 2D simulations. I have already done a convergence study for the mesh, which should be good. To find my strain curve after simulation, I run simulations for different forces for which I recover stress, strain and displacement and I draw these curves myself.

Here are the differences I can find between the curve given in the properties of the materials (in orange) and the stress strain curve in blue following the simulation.

Do you know where these differences in stress and strain can come from?

I also have this error message for the larger forces:

In my case, do I have it when my model breaks?

In what situation should we choose the options of long journeys and great constraints?

Thank you very much for your answers

Aurélie

Hello Miss Aurélie

Just by reading your text, several things catch my attention.

1°) you say New composite materials or Solidworks is not a very suitable software for composites, especially if they are multilayer 2D or 3D composite as found in aviation in particular.

2° ) You use the ugly word  :-)  which would be "rupture" when you say "when my model breaks".