Beginner in BE: how to choose the subject

Hello everyone, I am a beginner in a BE and I have a few questions. First of all, I would like to have some indications to choose the subject: how do you do it? I did an IUT in mechanical engineering but now that it's concrete, I'm lost. I would like general information such as: how to choose between a laminate and a stretched one? Why choose an A60 over an S235? 

And any other information I could use to me. Thank you.

Hello

Please tell us the software used because it is not entered in the parameters of your question.

Edit: Off topic!

1 Like

Hello

It all depends on the function of your part, do you need a TTH, should it be weldable..... In fact, you have to create a CDC.then in books like e.g. the memo or the cartoonist's guide you can find information.

Cdt

Fred

2 Likes

I thought I clicked on SolidWorks, but I don't think it changes from one software to another :-)

1 Like

Thank you for this beginning of my answer Fred, could you elaborate on the different cases?

Which grade will be weldable?

Which shade will be more suitable for a treatment? Blackening, for example, is done on all types of steel and is just a protection? 

For weldability, you have to pay attention to the percentage of carbon. For example, a 42CrMo4 is more difficult to weld.

As far as information is concerned, I use this site:

http://www.construiracier.fr/tout-sur-lacier/normes-et-nuances-dacier/

2 Likes

can you give us a little CDC so that we can help you define a subject,

Cdt

Fred

@Fred: I think it's a global issue, which teachers don't really explain explicitly.

Example: depending on the process, the orientation of the fibers is different and can impact the design of a part.

I've never been told that before. And even if it seems obvious, you have to think about it! :)

1 Like

Right, that's a general question!

Having left school 5 years ago, I allow myself to give you my point of view: