Dell XPS 15 for Solidworks?

Hi all

I've been working for many years on a Dell precision M2800 workstation, and a 2015 version of SW.

I want to change my workstation, and I was hesitating between 2 DELL products:

- New XPS 15 (W10 pro 64bits / i7-10750 / 32GB RAM / Nvidia GEFORCE GTX1650 Ti card / UHD display)

- Precision 5540 (W10 pro 64bits / i7-9850H / 32GB RAM / Nvidia quadro T2000 card / UHD display)

I know that the precision is designed to turn SW, but it is available within 1 month and costs 1000€ more than the XPS

My questions are therefore the following : do you have any feedback on the XPS15 and in particular the graphics card? No display bugs with UHD?I think I'll have to update  SW15 to newer, right?

Thank you in advance for your advice/feedback!

Hello

I'm not a computer scientist, but my pc is more powerful than yours and it lags it's an I9.

The more important is the graphics card, the higher the number the better. Mine P5000 Nvidia quadro and it's limited.

Well, we open assemblies of more than 10000 components.

But hey, it all depends on what you want to do. I'm a standard version of SolidWorks (2020), not the professional one , which is pretty good too.

The best thing to do is to inquire with SolidWorks or click on this link https://www.solidworks.fr/sw/support/SystemRequirements.html

And yes you have to change the version because the 2015 has worked well since then, and will become obsolete, that is to say no more maintenance, it stops at 2017, look at the link above.

Good luck.

@+.

AR

1 Like

Good evening

What size  of assemblies do you work on?

On my side,  we have two types of  portable config

Precision 5750 nVidia , Quadro RTX 3000 4gb , 16 GB RAM

Runs well for 500-piece assemblies

Precision 7750, Quadro RTX 4000 6GB, 32GB RAM

This config for larger assemblies.

Personally a little limited the XPS 15 config. After all, it all depends on your use.