Removal of material on a dome (SW 2015

Hello

I'm looking to make a hollow dome with solidworks 2015, the idea is to make a hollow dome with 1.8 mm thick walls.

I have no problem creating the dome itself, but I can't seem to hollow it out, my use of the material removal function makes a hole and only a ring the diameter of the dome survives...

The part thus designed, will be printed with a 3D printer...

Could you help me properly hollow out a dome with SolidWorks...?

Meric in advance.

I forgot to specify some information:

- Base diameter of 76 mm

- 60 mm height 

- wall thickness 1.8 mm

And why don't you make your dome via a revolution

2 Likes

Hello

Use the shell function. Look for it in the wizard at the top right in Solidwoks.

6 Likes

GT22 and AC427 are right.

Just to make the job easier, if you do a revulotion: make slim function

1 Like

Sorry, I'm really new to SolidWorks.

To try to make my dome with the revolution tool, I made a circle with the diameter I want via sketch, then  I click on boss with revolution, then I click on the circle and the wizard asks me for the axis of revolution, but I don't see how to put it...

I also tried via the shell function (after making my dome with the dome function) the result is not what it takes.... (captured in PC)

dome.png

As we are going to/cannot give you a distance SW training, for the basic functions I invite you to do the tutorial integrated into SW (help section).

I'm not sure that using the function to make a half sphere is the best option.

I found a hollow dome already made on the internet, but I would like to change the dimensions of the base of the dome, the height of the dome...

Is there a feature for that?

Hello

What version of SW are you in, can you give us a plan so that we can make you an example that you can study.

may the force be with you.

1 Like

Solidworks 2015,