Import a derived configuration

Hi all

I'm new to SW and I'd like to use derived configurations and be able to make my choice during an assembly.

Let me explain to you before my tree structure:

1. Gross Body

1.a Config A

1.b. Config B

2 Machined body

The machined body is a second file where I use " Insert> Parts..." to add the raw body as a derivative.

My question is: Is it possible to see the configurations of the stock when inserting the machined body into an assembly ?

I found a solution where I can see and choose the configuration by right-clicking on the stock and External references but I find that this solution is not very relevant especially if another person wants to use this machined part in another assembly. He will have to constantly look at what configuration he is on and not make a mistake.

Is there another solution?

I hope I was clear ^^

Thanks in advance

Kind regards

Hello,

To choose your configuration or derived configuration, simply click on the part and choose. See attachment:

configuration.png
1 Like

Hello AC cobra,

Thank you for the answer but SW doesn't offer me this option because the configuration is in the derivative. I can only change my stock option via external references.

See attachment

sw.png

There are 2 problems in your question

you want to be able to change a part configuration in an assembly

so it's not the same room anymore

So once I have made the modifications of this said part, I propose to insert

go back to the part file and rename it as it is no longer the same part

This renamed part can be a configuration of your raw part

so you'll have a gross with a reference X

and your part modify with ref x+n

which will not prevent your colleague from working on the raw part

but if he modifies the raw part it will also be modified for you

as long as it has the same name

@+ ;-)

1 Like

See these tutorials among others

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7zv6OxE0qyw

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fZ0eXW_GxU0