Solidworks 2016 Pro Update + LICENSE

I would like to have a clear procedure for an update from solidworks 2012 to 2016 pro knowing that I am stuck at the "download and install" step.

I have an error that appears telling me that the previous version was installed from an administrative image  and that I would have to remove all the components to continue the installation .

Not wanting to burn the licenses I turn to you!!

Kind regards

erreur.png

Hello,

In the worst case, I would advise you to release your license(s) on the workstation and then completely uninstall 2012 and install 2016. At least you'd have a clean version

For the license, you have to go to the small question mark at the top right, click on "license transfer" and follow the procedure. On the other hand, you need internet access on the computer, otherwise it's shit

2 Likes

Already:

Are you on a fixed license or a floating license?

1 Like

Thank you but I would only  like to do an update! I'm a technician and I'm not going to mess around with user licenses, I just want a working method to upgrade solidworks in 2016.

I have fixed licenses dedicated to each user.

Hello

From experience, it's better to uninstall and reinstall everything cleanly, especially with 4 versions apart.

Knowing that if all the personal configs are on the network it is not a problem.

At worst since the first install was done in admin image, you just have to do the same thing again in 2016 so install in admin image but much more comlpex to manage.

@+

2 Likes

I am also a simple technician @david.michel-ext.
And from experience, my info services have never been able to install Solidworks correctly (a software they don't know and don't want to know). And, in general, if I try to do an update and it already crashes at that level ... I don't dare to imagine in the use afterwards.