Molded sleeve

Hello

I am currently studying a possibility of making a sleeve molding for 5mm led.

Currently I use a lathe part and then after soldering the LED on the cable we cap a small tube of diam 7 by 19mm long. but I would like to replace this with a plastic or resin molding operation, which will still remain a bit artisanal due to the low production of the product (40 per month)

I thought of drawing a mold (2 shells with 10 to 15 slots) and then we could inject resin.... but how does the injection work, what do you have to respect to have a clean finished part...

Advice and guidance are welcome

Thank you

temperature, pressure, avoid air bubbles, and that the cavity that remains free is completely filled by the molding material, so the choice of the material to be injected is important

Make sure that the minimum number of parts is necessary (2 pieces minimum) to open or close the mold Thermal shock often allows the material to be removed from the molds

@+ ;-)

1 Like

Hello 

There are low-pressure filling systems that can be suitable for this type of project.

http://www.lintech.fr/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=tpflypage.tpl&product_id=48&category_id=44&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=158

Be careful because low pressure also means a reduced flow length. You have to be as close as possible to the footprint and have a large channel diameter.

We use this system for the injection of contact insulators. 

As for the mold, I advise you to use a steel with a small regulation so as not to heat the tooling and to be able to demold over time. Small staubli fittings plus water at 20° would be impeccable.

To be sure to unmold I advise you to use 3° drafts on the surface perpendicular to the plane of the joints because they are very adherent materials.

If necessary, I can send you the study of a mold for this type of process and in production for example.

1 Like

A very simple idea: have you looked at plastic tubes (polyurethane, plastic etc ...)