Modeling a faucet?

Hello

I am a high school teacher and I am currently supervising a high school group on a CAD project.

We are working on a project for a national 3D modeling competition. To be modelled, we need to model a tap located within the premises of our establishment, of which here is a photo:

Robinet

To carry out this modelling we created sketches from the photos taken of the tap, then made 3 bossing/smoothing functions between the closed sketches at the base of the push button, at the base of the wall and at the bottom end of the tap. Here is the result:

Modèle 3D du Robinet

The problem is that the smoothing function doesn't allow you to create a volume from 3 closed sketches, only 2 at a time, hence the hole in our model. I am reaching the maximum of my knowledge in 3D modeling, which is why we are calling on you. Is there a function, a trick that allows you to make a model from 3 closed sketches?

Thank you in advance,

Nicholas.

1 Like

Hello

Have you tried without smoothing, with two revolutions of the main shapes and a variable leave?

Unfortunately yes and the shapes are too irregular to obtain a satisfactory result thanks to this method. 

something like that?

see attached file SW 2012

@+

robinet_presto_nicolas.sldprt
7 Likes

It looks very good, and with a smoothing function...  No way to open the file from home,  no solidworks, I'll study it tomorrow at work. 

Thank you, I'll keep you informed if it works. 

1 Like

yes it's 2 smoothing functions that intersect

You have to play with the planes and create the profiles and guided curves

It's up to you to put the right odds

It's a walkthrough but there is not only one path that leads to Rome ;-) 

You can also optimize the part in surface area by creating x profiles of the mouthpiece

To do this, you just need to have the right odds 

We manage to go much further in the shapes with the surface

@+ ;-)

3 Likes

The mistake is indeed to want to do everything in a single function.