Texture problem on display cut (SW 2017)

Hello

I am a beginner in solidworks so maybe some questions or approaches will seem curious to you

I want to render a building by making a section to see the inside.

I apply textures and in the outside view, no problem. but when I ask for a cut view, the textures jump or propagate... even when rendering PhotoView.

Any lead for my problem?

01_out.jpg

Here is attached the image in interior view, the one that is problematic...

01_in.jpg

Good evening

This problem is not very logical but is quite easily explained.

In your case you do a mapping (a texturing), which is like putting an image on a surface. The principle of all mapping is to attach in one way or another to an edge (whatever its shape) and with at least 2 edges  or edges (even in very sophisticated software like MODO or MARI  from  the foundry company, it works like this).

However, by first doing your mapping and then your cross-sectional view, you are precisely cutting one of the reference surfaces. As it is lost, the software no longer displays it.

So two solutions:

The first one is to be checked but I don't really believe in it ! Do your cross-sectional view first and then your mapping afterwards. But the cross-sectional views don't seem to me to be too suitable for this kind of manipulation because there is normally no edge at the place of the cut.

The second one that will work for sure. You create a plane parallel to the face to be removed then ==> a rectangular sketch larger than the gable of the building ==> a removal of material ==> then you do your mapping normally as well as all your lighting and other subtleties of the rendering.

When you have finished your images,  all you have to do is neutralize your material removal with the "delete" function for your building to regain its integrity. (Presumably without loss of mapping if you do it correctly.)

Keep us informed of the result ;-)

Kind regards

2 Likes

Silly question I understand