Industrial designer reconversion

Hello

I am looking for advice and information for a possible professional reconversion... I'm Spanish, 46 years old, I've always worked in graphic design, especially in packaging. Through the packaging I became interested in 3D (I am a 3D graphic designer, I use 3DS Max). I've only been living in France for 2 years and I'm having trouble finding a job in 3D or graphic design in general... (apparently age is a real handicap in this sector).

In short, I have always been attracted to industrial design and I would like to know how the market is doing for industrial designers (outlets, salaries, etc.). Your advice will be invaluable...

Felipe

2 Likes

Hello

I am a teacher in the field of industrial design and I have noticed a clear increase in the hiring of my trainees at the end of school over the past 5 years.

Generally speaking, by observing the ads on sites like INDEED, the number of ads increases every year.

And to note that companies are much busier than in the recent past.

There you go

6 Likes

I still allow myself to weigh your answer @alain. ERP: indeed, your research region will make the answer evolve enormously!

If I take my case for example, I'm originally from Tours, currently working in Lyon and looking for a job in St Etienne (yes, there's easier, I agree)

But in Lyon, there is no problem finding work in the BE ... as much as St Etienne, it's a real bore. And yet there is only 60Km between the two cities. As far as in Tours, well it's an average of the two. Neither good nor bad.

In short, I would advise you to find out about the market in your area. A simple solution is to go to PoleEmploi.fr and search by profession and city. You will be better aware of what it is.

That said, if age is a concern in your current research, I'm unfortunately afraid it's the same in all branches :s

2 Likes

Hello

You will receive everything by e-mail. Nearby agencies , in connection with companies will call you.