Space pilot pro, returns

Hello

There's a lot of talk about the Space Pilot Pro at the moment and, after having had it in my hand at Axemble, I can't really understand the advantages compared to the traditional keyboard/mouse.

Let me explain, I didn't find the 3D navigation very simple but I think it's a habit to have, however, compared to a mouse that is very precise, why change?

I use many keyboard shortcuts that are fine. The fact of using a Space Pilot replaces the keyboard of my left hand and we transfer the shortcuts to this tool but is it really easier than a keyboard (and above all, did I use it correctly...).  

If any of you have any feedback on the switch, whether you are just starting out or experimenting, I would like to know a little more about it:)

PS: Please only publish testimonials and not explanatory links, that's not the point.

2 Likes

Hello

I have been using this Spacepilote Pro for several years, and the interests are multiple.

It is true that getting to grips with it requires a little patience to master the gestures, but then it quickly becomes essential:

Two-handed work (the classic mouse becomes only a pointing tool) + customizable shortcuts always at hand.

In my opinion, it's a great tool that allows you to gain speed.

Have a nice day.

1 Like

Hello

I had a similar feeling to José's: the keyboard shortcuts are very practical, I tried to transfer them to the 3D mouse, but I didn't get hooked, finding that the zoom and translation manipulations are much more practical with a classic mouse, especially when you're already used to it!

I found myself with the Space Pilot on the left of the keyboard in one hand, and the mouse on the other side because it was still necessary to point, as @a-hincelin says.

I lent it to a few colleagues who are less fans of keyboard shortcuts, but they weren't convinced either!