Non-smooth solid surface

Hello everyone!
I'm new to using Solidworks and I need to create a solid for comparison with another similar one but from a reconstruction...
I make a sketch, close it and make a revolution. So far so good.
However, when I zoom in on the generated part, I see breaks on my bows (I put red dots where they can be seen...) It does the same thing on the volume. In the end, when I compare it with another volume that is perfectly smooth, you can see angles appear! Does anyone have any idea how to fix this?
Thank you in advance, have a good day

Hello

The problem is only visual, it's not a defect strictly speaking (it's a function that allows you to see how the volume is built. If you use "Shaded image edges"  you see the junction: but if you click on "shaded image" you will no longer have this visual defect.

The problem comes from the sketch because you have a big curve and then a radius. It should already be ensured that the connection is made with a tangency stress, this will reduce a possible misalignment.

Then if you want to have only one line without a seam then turn your two lines into a construction line, then create a spline (one for the outer edge and one for the inner edge) in one piece by snapping the spline points on the construction lines (make as many points as possible, so that the spline is super guided. Once the sketch has been validated, you will then have a perfect looking surface.

Kind regards

1 Like

Hello ludo

I understand that it's a PB of image quality adjustment. It's not the junction of the two rays that bothers you but the resolution of the curves. Be careful, a setting that is too fine consumes resources.

Options -> Document Properties Tab -> Image Quality -> Shaded Image Resolution

screenshot_3.png
2 Likes

Yes, as they say @soring 

if you see segmented curved lines

it is the quality of definition  of the image that is at stake

and + your def will be high + it will be long and hungry in RAM and disk space