When will we see a real use of processors?

Hello

I've been using Solidworks for 15 years, with more and more powerful PCs.

I notice that there is still no real consideration of multi-core processors in the basic functions. 

I do very little simulation and even less photoview.

For my part, it would be very relevant if a simple material removal used all the capabilities of the PC. Indeed, I have more and more to deal with scanned building files, which are therefore very heavy with several tens of thousands of bodies...  

And it's particularly infuriating to see that a big PC only uses 7% of its CPU to do a removal of material in 30 minutes

See example in PC

7pourcent_seulement.jpg
1 Like

Indeed, except for drawings, simulation, visualize no multicore management for parts and assembly. It's certainly due to the Solidworks Core... I don't know if it can change one day...

Amha, the problem is that the operations in the rooms are dependent on each other, so a parallelism of the treatment is difficult to set up.

2 Likes

@max59, That's what I'm criticizing, we have the impression that Solidworks has been dragging the same kernel since its creation... While PCs have become much more powerful. This gap means that we lose precious time waiting for the only heart solicited to do its work while the other 19 (in my case) do nothing...

Could a petition or requests for optimization from Dassault make things happen???

@stefbeno, I understand for functions in the context, when you have links between files. But for a simple removal of material without an external link (even in an assembly), or the registration of an assembly in parts, or an import of a big step (or other "simple" functions)... should be able to be done at a gallop...

Personally I think they will change

If the competition  becomes multi-core 

The fact is that I was able to test as well as a few colleagues

that a xeon is preferable with its ECC memory

@+ ;-)

Hello