Help with the modeling of a part

Hello

I am asking for your help for the modeling of a furniture wrist.

To quickly put you in context: as part of my training in cabinetmaking, I reproduced a chest of drawers  from the 18th century. I now  want to make his brass fittings. And for this I would like to make a 3D print of the wrists in order to have a model to reproduce in a brass casting .

I had the opportunity a few years ago to use solidworks in the school environment. I feel comfortable with the basics of this software but I'm a beginner. And after a few hours of unsuccessful attempts, I dry up modeling this handle.

I will spare you the details of my unsuccessful attempts and the different spontaneous approaches.  In the end I don't know how to formulate my search and find information to solve my problems. It seems easier to ask you how you would go about modeling this wrist. I'm sure it's going to seem extremely simple to you.

You will find a photo attached.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Julian

dscf36515.jpg

Note that I have difficulties with the wrist itself. No problem for decorative sheet metal and balls 

anticstore-large-ref-48593_09.png

Good evening

Don't be mistaken, it's not extremely simple ;-)  ;-)

Like that, at first reading, without having thought more than that , I would say work on one half and make a symmetry.

1. A revolution boss for the right part
  2. a smoothed bossed base for the curved part.
  3. A symmetry to finish.

I'll look at it and I'll get back to you ;-)

Kind regards

That reassures me a little:) 
I was wondering if it is possible to guide the diameter of a circular profile by two curves?

How do you make a curved tube with variable diameter?

commode-malouine-acajou_2.jpg
1 Like

Good evening

Here's a look at what's possible.

I did the simplest part which is the 1st of my previous message

On the other hand, is it to make just the shape or is it to produce behind the piece?

projet_sans_titre_2.jpg