How do you automate an assembly drop?

Hi all

I am looking to automate the descent of a part in assembly. Today, manually, I do like this:

- In assembly A, lower a part B (originally attached) into a subassembly C;

- Fix C at the origin

- Name C as B (bonus, copy $PRP:"number" and $PRP:"description")

- Save B as an external file.

I have very little experience with macros and, first, I would like to ask you the question of feasibility.

To understand my approach: the general goal is to obtain an assembly containing a structure (the part) that is always particular, and to bring back standard fastening elements (library parts). I work on steel structures in large assemblies (civil engineering), and inherit structural parts through a body registration function from a "schematic" part.

What do you think?

Thank you

M

Hello

We have set up keyboard shortcuts for that. When we are in a part we press ctrl-a then there it integrates into an asm and when we do ctrl-w we can import a part into the ASM.

document_de_touches_de_raccourci_solidworks.. PDF
1 Like

If I understand correctly:

You have
Situation S1: A.asm which contains B.prt (B seems to be a piece created in A) and C.asm (Is C existing?)

Would you like to have
Situation S2: A.asm which contains C.asm which itself contains B.prt (B having been registered)

Knowing that to go from S1 to S2, you have to manage the constraints

Hello

I didn't really understand the purpose either...

Hi all

and thank you for your answers,

Cobra, thanks for the tip, but I'm looking to stay in Assembly A at all times.

Stefbeno, to provide you with more details:

Situation S1:

A.asm contains B.prt. B.prt is originally fixed. A and B are generated by a command to register bodies, from  a room A'.prt containing body B'. C.asm does not exist.

Situation S2:

In A.asm, C.asm replaces and contains B.prt. C.asm has the same name and properties as B.prt, and is also originally fixed to A.asm.