How do you make a rounded groove around a cylinder on SW?

hello good evening 

I'm a novice in 3D modeling, I have some basics on SW but it's been a few days now that I've been racking my brains to make a rounded groove around a cylinder I would like to have your help to be able to move forward in my project.

I'm posting my plan to give you an idea of what it would look like.

Thank you in advance 

Have a good day / evening 

Kind regards 

21053054-f9f6-48b3-984c-1070aae25b5d.png

Hello

Removal of material by revolution + linear repetition seems to me to be the simplest ...

5 Likes

Hello

No better than Yves T,

1- Sketch an arc of a circle that you close with a line in side view, which you dimension as requested and which allows you to remove material by revolution.

2 - Linear repetition of the function.

The hardest thing for you will be to make this sketch and to dimension it properly;)

Don't hesitate to post us your essays so that we can see what's wrong with your method.

Come on, a hint: don't put the center of your arc on your cylinder;)

Have a nice day

Hello

- Either you make a sketch for your big Ø200 cylinder and then you make another sketch to make a removal with revolution

- Either you make a single sketch with the general shape of your part and you make a boss with revolution.

To choose from.......

Have a nice day

1 Like

Hello

To continue @michel.janicot's reflection, if you have the DWG, it's easy to get the sketch to work with it directly without redrawing anything.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MVOnIMiGkCs

May the force be with you

2 Likes

I love OBI WAN's response:) She perfectly echoes what our industrial drawing teacher told us: the best cartoonist is the one who doesn't draw anything but copies everything...

2 Likes

It's a good method if you don't need to change sides, or decline the piece into a family of pieces otherwise you're quickly limited, you might as well redo it entirely.