Design of a slide with a cone

Hello 

In order to make a slide, I use a system with a cone that I live to translate vertically and two blocks in contact with the cone that translate horizontally.

My problem is that I would like to be able to remove material from the two blocks in horizontal translation that perfectly follows the trajectory of the cone and I encounter some difficulties. Indeed, it is not enough to simply remove material in the shape of a cone because of the rectilinear trajectory of my cone. (see photo for system).

If anyone has any leads, I'm interested

glissiere_one.png

Hello

Have you already used this slide system or is it a first try ? I'm not a pro in mechanics, and I have a doubt about the process. I'll see more of a drill chuck type system with flute! 

I think I know that there are people on this forum, very knowledgeable on the subject!

I admit that I don't have too much doubt about the operation of the system, after I didn't show the whole thing, but the two blocks are wedged in a housing to guide them in translation and the reason to want to better fit the shape is to gain contact surface with the slide housing on low surfaces (see photo) because in the completely open position, the bottom surface is no longer in contact with the red sump

glissiere_avec_carter.png

Hello@alexandre

Your explanation is not very clear, if I may say so.

If you have two flat surfaces (on parts that move horizontally) that slide on a cone , you will already have a minimum fiction anyway since it is like having a contact on an edge.

I didn't understand this "" the reason for wanting to fit the shape better is to gain contact surface with the slide housing on low surfaces ""

In any case, your system will freeze right away because you will have two simultaneous buttresses. In addition, I don't give much for your tapping because the cylinder of your cone is not guided, so there too, buttresses guaranteed.