Toolbox Elements

Hi all

I'm a BST CRSA teacher, and when you make a design under a PC and you place Toolbox elements (screws, bearings, keys,...) and you open the design from another PC, the configuration of the screws becomes anything (huge screws...). I even tried to rename the screws and store them in a screws folder associated with the design, and when you reopen the CAD file, it goes back to look for the screws in Toolbox losing the names we had given to the screws and the screws become huge. I don't understand where it comes from and what can be done to fix this Pb.

Thanks in advance

Philippe

Hello

Are your units in metric and not in Inch on the 2 stations?

5 Likes

Hello

If the PCs are networked, it would be better if all PCs point to the same settings files in tools > options > file location and toolbox. Thus, there is little chance that the problem will recur.

3 Likes

The problem is simple: each PC has its own toolbox.

When you insert a toolbox component into an assembly on a computer, automatically the configuration of the component is created, if you open the assembly from another computer it will try to fetch the part from that computer and not from the first one, the size does not exist Solidworks will choose the default one.

The solution is to have a common toolbox, for this you just have to copy/paste the solidworks data folder of one of the stations and paste it to a network location accessible by all the workstations, then all you have to do is point all the toolboxes to the same place by going to tools, option, assisting for drilling/ toolbox.

6 Likes

And yes the toolbox tool and its setbacks

_deja several workstations if in networks have the same toolbox as say @ Lucas

_plus simple, one for everyone

_creer your own toolbox (personal files)

See these tutorials

http://www.lynkoa.com/tutos/3d/creation-des-propriete-de-toolbox-avec-excel

http://www.lynkoa.com/tutos/nouveautes-toolbox-2012-solidworks-fevrier-2012-web-l