When is the future?

Hi everyone,

I've been working on SW for a few years now and frankly it's great!

It's great when you can exchange with customers/suppliers directly in 3D! We send a little parasolid and presto, the exchanges are fast!

On the other hand, when it comes to making plans, it's frankly a disaster! It's slow, it's full of bugs...

Do you think that one day we will finally be able to free ourselves from 2D?? Communicate only in 3D, even to manufacturing?

We can't wait for the future!!

2 Likes

YES, with some subcontractors I no longer send 2d but step files in clear I communicate only with 3d. so no more 2d pdf dwf dxf.

May the force be with you

4 Likes

Hello

I don't see how to do without it completely: surface conditions, tolerances on the coasts, geometric tolerances etc... do not appear on 3D as soon as they are migrated to a format other than the native!

But I agree with you, sometimes it would really be the kick; what time would we gain....

5 Likes

No more paper all virtual, that's the head start we need ;-)

Send the file directly in your format and the recipient

opens with what he has on hand among others One Shape or other

@+ ;-)

2 Likes

Hello

there is 3D dimensioning now, but a plan remains a legal document in case of dispute.

1 Like

It's true that it would be a good idea, and ecologically speaking too!

2 Likes

Hello

It's the same for me; I only send STEP or 3D pdf or edrawing .exe. For the drawings I send the pdf and dxf. But personally I don't have a problem when I receive WWTP to do the drawings.

3 Likes

The future...

Surely it will not be far away.

But Factory 4.0 will see 3D without 2D.

I'm sure!

But it's hard to imagine a 3D dimension chain.

And many other subtleties

3 Likes

Apparently it's now! :-)

SolidWorks has already thought of this. SolidWorks MDB is made for this: http://www.solidworks.com/sw/products/technical-communication/solidworks-mbd.htm

3 Likes

Hello