Unstable model

Hello

Here is a modele of awning that must be installed on an existing framework.

The problem during the simulation is that the modele is unstable.

How to fix this problem (recurring)

Thank you for your help

auvent_2.0.sldprt

Hello Syltab,

A first check before embarking on the simulation on this kind of part. You insert it into an assembly to see if you have any interference.

and there you have one (in red) probably a material covering... Try to remove it before you start the simulation.

interference.jpg
3 Likes

Unstable? What does that mean?

Sorry, for this question I'm not an expert in simulation

Hello

Indeed, this happens frequently.

Here is another post on this subject: http://www.lynkoa.com/forum/generalites/simulation-sw-2015-modele-instable

or http://www.lynkoa.com/forum/ecoulement-des-fluides/simulation-en-poutre

or http://www.lynkoa.com/forum/rdm/simulation-mecano-soude

Another post of yours: http://www.lynkoa.com/forum/ecoulement-des-fluides/probleme-de-modele-instable

Personally I often try to change solver...

1 Like

Hello

What version of SolidWorks is it?

I can't open it with my 2014.

Version 2015

Did you manage to make the mesh despite this interference?

Given the thickness of the material, you need a very small mesh size, and given the complexity of the part you will spend days on it if you stay in volume.

Try to make a mixed mesh: beam for the profile + shell for the sheet metal + volume. with constraints of contact between sets.

And if it's possible to make a symmetry hypothesis, cut your model in half and make a simulation on one half. You'll save half the meshing time and computation time!

2 Likes

yes the mesh is done without problem

I switched to volume, because I noticed that the results are more precise and this is closer to reality

My problem may come from the fact that I have badly defined the bolt connectors? compared to surfaces that are not in contact