3D modeling of 1/4 turning staircase stringer

Hi all

Here I explain my problem:

I am currently a CPI student in alternance in an Indoor/Outdoor decoration company.

At the moment I am working on the modeling of a 1/4 turning staircase using the Solidworks 2013 software.

I block on the twisting part of the stringers.

Is it possible to bend it once the unfolded stringer has been extruded?

Thank you for your answers.

limon_ext._esquisse.png
1 Like

Have you seen this question: http://www.lynkoa.com/forum/3d/limon-escalier-tournant

It brings together several answers and leads to other questions on the same subject.

4 Likes

Hello

You can find a tutorial for a stringer staircase here:

http://www.mycadblog.fr/wp-content/uploads/tuto-limon.zip

And the image:

http://i2.wp.com/www.mycadblog.fr/wp-content/uploads/HPIM71661.jpg

3 Likes

Want to bend the stringer once the unfolded stringer is extruded???

I didn't understand everything^^

1 Like

Hello

Something like that?

Did someone post about it last week!!!

sw01.png
2 Likes

The best way to unfold is to go through the sheet metal module, and to make a swept bent sheet

Make your 3D sketch and swing your profile on your stringer

1 Like

Or conversely, draw your stringer flat, extrude it, cut it according to the curves it must have

then convert it into sheet metal, and insert folds to unfold it

1 Like

Thank you for the link Benoit.LF, I'll dig around a bit.

1 Like

If it is the development of the stringer that you draw directly, to fold it you will have to draw exactly the fold lines and insert folds with angles to be filled in! for right-angled pieces it's easy but for a stringer where I think there will be regular curves it becomes a little more laborious!! It is better to go straight to the sheet metal work!!

1 Like

In fact I was sent the outline of the stringers unfolded in . DXF, so I opened a drawing with the drawings and simply copy/paste in sketch to finish with an extruded base/boss.