Edit an stl file from thingiverse

Hello 

I got an STL file, the problem is that it's a bit too small. 

I can't change it in Solidworks. I would like to remove 2-3 mm on two parts. 

I'm new to solidworks. I'm sure it can't be hard, but I would really like to learn how to do it, and not for someone to do it for me. 

Thanks in advance for the help. If needed, I can provide the thingiverse link, or even the stl. 

Hello

Could you share your file with a screen print of what you would like to have in order to better guide you in your learning.

1 Like

First of all, the stl file must be imported as a volume body or at the surface boundary (but it will be more complicated to modify it).

By default, stls are imported as a graphics body.

2 Likes

Hello 

First of all, the file must be in volume 

@+

hello

Personally, solidworks is not made to open and work with STL. I've already tried without success.

making a 3D and exporting in STL works well though.

to modify the STL I go through meshmixer, there are video tutorials on the net it's not super complicated.

Hello, here is the link: https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1216409 

I also put the STL in the PC.

In fact the notch to put the watch is too thin, it would have to be opened 3mm more towards the front side (so as not to have to modify the other part inside. 

I had thought of making a rectangular sketch all the way through the notch, extruding it so that it goes to the other side and removing the material from this rectangle but I can't  do it:(:(

apple_watch_dock_shell_-_thingiverse.stl

See this link

To import and edit neutral files

https://www.lynkoa.com/contenu/limportation-de-fichiers-neutre-solidworks

@+

I tested like the video but it doesn't work at all. He doesn't offer me the feature at all. I don't really know why

Which SW version do you have?

The 2019

And on MeshMixer, I can't cut cleanly, it modifies the whole room

Thank you