Folds on the inner edges of sheet metal frame

Hello

On SW 2019, I have difficulty creating close folds on the inside edges of a sheet metal frame.

I start with a flat area of the frame, cut out in the inside corners, which I would like to fold. Except that below 3.8mm of cutting width, it blocks while the folds do not yet touch.

I tried with sketched fold, it blocks from the first fold.

By trying bent sheets on edges, it goes on 3 of the 4 edges, even if the folds overlap in the corners (and therefore the final flat area generated also overlaps). It does block with this function if I select the fourth edge.

I attach the images of the initial flat area and the type of folds desired.

FYI: Ep=2mm / Ri=2.67

Do you have a solution or ideas please?
I'm a beginner in sheet metal work and I'm learning on the job, if it's not the best method don't hesitate ;)

Thanks in advance

plis_int_cadre.zip

Hello

The idea is that the folded returns touch each other in the corners? If so, impossible!

Or maybe I didn't understand the meaning of the question!

No, indeed physically it's impossible (although with the "bent sheet metal on edge" function on 3 of the 4 edges, it doesn't pose a problem on the 3D, weird...).

But otherwise in the idea it's a bit like that, to bring them together in the corners to the limit of what is possible to draw physically on the initial flat area, with just a laser "incision" in the corners before folding.

On my images, my "incision" is 3.8mm wide, that's big for a laser! :D

If I go down the cutting width, the creases block and don't create.

Thank you, good evening

The idea is to start with a frame and make a fold by editing the sketch of the fold to move it inwards and break the corners. Then, via an axis created earlier, a circular repetition must be made.

Tell me if it's okay with you. 

tole_1.sldprt
1 Like

Hello

Thank you for your answer, I had done a test as you say, but the unfolded result is still quite openworked.