Problem with Solidworks Simulating a sheet metal with a reinforcement

Hi everyone,

I want to make a simulation of the deformation of a galvanized steel sheet, when pressed at a point of Ø100mm with a force of 100N.

I'm new to the module, I've never done one before.

This 2000*800mm sheet metal has an omega reinforcement glued to stiffen it.

No matter how hard I try everything, I must have a problem with the contacts. "The beam element is not properly connected to the shell/volume element"

Can someone tell me if they see any shocking things in the simulation tree?

Attached is a screen of the model

Thank you all

capture.jpg
1 Like

Hello

Are your functions merged??? I think you have a multibody piece???

1 Like

Absolutely,
 There are two bodies in my piece, one in sheet metal and the other in welded mechanic.

See this link among others

http://www.leguide3d.com/profiles/blogs/simulation-pr-sentation-simulation-avanc-e

http://api.ning.com/files/wwXOq8TjJKubKP7gsyIAnjFgrLi0BE9MhQoHCjotrWQfvKLUVNap5lbwacMRGnn*9YC2TURaFRKAUnMEwgf490OGPOoPWtnC/FormationenligneProblmatiquesavancessimu.pdf

@+

Have you merged them??? Because I think that simulation doesn't really like multi-bodies in a room.

1 Like

Simulation Xpress only accepts one body but Simulation handles them (normally) without any problem.
On the other hand, it's true that in general the mix of beam and volume is not great.

So 2 possibilities:
- either redefine the contact between bodies;
- or make sure to have only volume, on the other hand it will be heavier in terms of the mesh.

Hi everyone,

Thank you for your answers, I managed to avacer.

On the other hand the result is not consistent, I have more deformation (29mm) with the reinforcement than without the reinforcement (4mm)

By the way, it's coherent 4mm of boom on a 1mm thick sheet metal with 10kg on a 100mm disc?)

Attached are pictures of the stages. It is clear that I am not following the movement

capture_connexions.jpg