Problem of extreme slowness in view in section

Hello

I'm a high school student and I have to use Solidworks 2019 Student Edition for a project in class, we have to make a bike stem and its handlebars. The assembly is really not heavy and it is really very simple.

In my homework, I have to make a cross-sectional view, so I press the "cross-sectional view" tool of my software and the view is made but impossible to move the section, solidworks is completely congested. I don't think it's a problem coming from my computer (lenovo thinkpad, i5 3320M 2.60 GHz, intel HD graphics 4000, 8gb of ram and I'm on Windows 10 home).

Do you have any ideas of where the problem can come from?

I know that the cross-sectional view worked perfectly a week ago so it's really strange.

Thank you for your help! Hoping to be able to reuse SolidWorks correctly:)

pb_coupe.png
1 Like

Hello

Already solidworks works very badly or not on w10, moreover the student version is really very limited, ... I'm not a computer pro, but that's the case with me with the student versions.

Kind regards.

1 Like

Thank you for responding quickly!

In this case should you consider switching to a Windows 8 or 7?

Hello

It seems to me that there is no limitation on the student versions but I'm not sure.

"lenovo thinkpad, i5 3320M 2.60 GHz, intel HD graphics 4000, 8gb of ram and I'm on Windows 10 home" : it seems very (very very) light to me to run Solidworks, I would change my computer ... see HERE for minimum system requirements.

Kind regards

5 Likes

hello D.roger,  thank you for your answer.

Here is the part that we need to make, the problem is that a week ago I made a cross-sectional view of this same part and it worked perfectly.

if it can ever help/ is important, I had to modify and add values in my regedit to have access to RealView. Could it have caused some kind of malfunction? 

capture.png

After testing, drawing is also impossible...