License Issue

Hello.

I have been working with Solidworks for several years and recently my company closed.

When I left, she gave me the license for this software but it is a server license. I can't install it at home. How to proceed please.

Hello 

To use this server license you will need a server or go to a reseller so that it switches to a normal license which I think will be paid. Here is a short video of how to create a server on your PC.

https://youtu.be/2MeGJXvBTFU

After that, all you have to do is install your floating license on this server...

2 Likes

See this link

http://www.solidworks.fr/sw/support/software-licensing-registration.htm

@+

• You install the license manager on your computer (even if it was that when you closed your box the license was put back on the SolidWorks server)
  • You put your SW on your workstation and you declare that the license manager is also on your workstation.

1 Like

Sorry I'm going to play devil's advocate:

But assigning a solidworks license is forbidden and illegal. Licenses are nominative.

Excerpt from the license agreement you sign when you purchase a license:

"1.A.  License Grant.  DS SOLIDWORKS grants you a non-exclusive, non-transferable right to use the Software and the printed and/or electronic user documentation (the "Documentation") accompanying the Software in accordance with this Agreement. "

So yes, if you want to you can install it at home, on the other hand you have to know the risks... and right now they're hunting for pirate licenses! And in terms of discretion, it's not recommended to come and shout it loud and clear here!

I'm the first to say that our licenses are too expensive! On the other hand, out of respect for all these small businesses or the self-employed who struggle to buy an official license, I don't condone those who abuse the system...

That's just my opinion!

Sorry for that Monday morning grumbling!

Have a good week everyone

2 Likes

Thank you Thom@s for this info.