Aluminum profile how to manage several lengths

Hello

I use aluminum profiles cut to the desired length to make frames. I'm a beginner.

I'm looking for how to deal with them. Today I take my 1000mm length profile and then I modify its length in extrusion and I save it under a new name before inserting it into my assembly.

Is it possible to have a library output with a property before inserting it to define its length before insertion? Or another solution?

If I place my 1000mm length and change its length in the assembly all the profiles will have the dimension that changes too. 

Thank you for your advice.

Hello

You can manage these lengths with a family of parts: Excel table and configuration.

Kind regards.

Fred

1 Like

Hello

Thank you for the information after I modify each profile one by one because I don't have all the lengths directly. That's why I'd like to put one of a defined length that I can easily adjust and then add one by one the other profiles that are independent of the first one with a quickly configured length. 

Then you "play" with the configurations as you can do with components from the same family.

1 Like

Hello @

In this case a library  such as the Weld Parts Toolbox section may be useful, 

It allows you to define the length when inserting components, modify it at any time by creating automatic configurations, change the configurations of the same parts while keeping the specific custom properties, 

How are the profiles assembled?
Why not use the welded construction module (even if the profiles are not welded)?

4 Likes

- Thank you Fred for your feedback. The excel solution is not really practical in my case, especially since I can add/remove and modify my structure during assembly. I don't really know how my structure will end up at the beginning of the assembly.

- Thank you Lynk, I absolutely have to look at this. Surely that could be the solution.