Simulation of a mechanically welded chassis

Hello

I'm still a beginner when it comes to simulation and I want to do a static study on the chassis of my robot to make sure it's robust at the beginning there are pink and green dots, I didn't understand what the green dots are.

My second question is that I find it difficult to define fixed geometry.

Thank you in advance for your help .

capture.png

Good evening Senda

The pink or green dots show correspond to the connection nodes and it also shows that you want to do a simulation in "beam" mode.

In short

- Pink dot (magenta) connections connect two or more beam members

- the green dot connections are connected to only one member and therefore disconnected (not relational) from the other beams.

I don't recommend you to do a beam simulation but rather do a shell (volume) simulation. It's hard to explain why because it's quite technical.

I have set myself the following bestial rule "any profile (IPN UPN, Tube or square or rectangular tube) that is less than 300 mm I treat it as a shell".

You will also see the deformations of your different profiles much better.

A little tip When we do RDM, we talk about a beam even if it is a small IPN. In solidworks, the beam mode is not used, for example, for mechanically welded frames

Kind regards

3 Likes

Hello

In theory, as this frame is only made up of members, a beam simulation would be quite suitable. However, provided that certain criteria are met. In particular, all the neutral fibers of the same plane must intersect (so no green dots). On the other hand, the beam approximation is only valid if the cross-section is small in relation to the length. Generally, it is considered that the length must be at least 4 times the cross-section (so indeed, an IPE 100 of 300 mm long does not meet this criterion for example).