Connecting rod system to synchronize 2 movements

Hello

I'm new. So I'll quickly introduce myself (I couldn't find a Presentation section on this forum), my name is Justin. I am an engineer but in a field other than mechanics. I am starting out in CAD as an amateur.

I want to make a piece of furniture (a coffee table) with the top separated into two parts (p1 and p2). These will be mounted on hinges (which I didn't draw). Thus, it will be possible to open / close it in order to store objects. I would like to set up a mechanism using connecting rods / levers (b1 and b2) in order to synchronize the opening movement of each of the parts (i.e. to have the angles a and b equal regardless of the position of the chainrings). I am working on the realization of this mechanism. I've tried different solutions and I've always come to the same conclusion: I need to create 2 opposite linear movements (drawn in red), with a parallel axis above the crossmember T, at points a1 and a2 (I hope what I'm saying isn't too blurry). I tried with a mechanism of the cam + connecting rods type like those found in the locking system of office cabinets but it doesn't work. Other solutions are possible: inverted racks with pinion between the two, pulley system with a cable on which one of the connecting rods would be hung at the top and the other at the bottom, using a part that would allow the axes of the 2 connecting rods to be centered, etc ... However, I would like to stay on a connecting rod system for a reason of cost and simplicity of implementation. In addition, I am limited in terms of space, especially when the table is closed.

Do you have any ideas to solve my problem?

Thanks in advance

PS: I have attached 2 screenshots: one with the table open, the other with the table closed

captures_decran.zip
1 Like

Hello

Thank you for your presentation. There is a "Coffee with friends" group where it is possible to get to know the community.