Tapping

Hello

I'm new to solidworks

I created threads with the drilling assistant, but I can't make the threads appear, especially since on the drawing, you can just see a diameter without the representations of the thread.

Could someone help me? I think it's just a box to check but I don't know which one.

Christian

Hello

Normally it's done automatically! Can you mail your piece with the MEP?

When creating the function; Have you checked thread representation???

representation_filetage.png
3 Likes

Hello

To see thread threads appear on a MEP, you have to do Insert=> object of the model, then choose the thread representations from the annotations.

Fred

1 Like

Hello

I solved my problem, I had forgotten to check the thread representation.

Thank you cobra427

Frederick's proposal is interesting because there are indeed two notions of thread representation

-The one proposed by @ ACcobra (whom I salute) and which corresponds to the classic representation of a thread in a drawing for a very long time but here in 3D with its corollary of representation in the MEP.

Except that there is a trap in Solidworks, not to say a very big oddity. In the image given as an example by ACcobra, it is a straight pipe thread and not an M6 thread for example, but in the example a G3/8 gas pitch.

If you want to make a real M6 thread for example, you have to do it differently. But if you do a tapping with the drilling assistance tool, well the representation of the tapping does not appear in 3D  (personally I haven't found how to display the annotation while it is possible for welding) in 3D: hence the interest of what Frédéric proposes if you absolutely want to show in the 3D that it is possible to There is a thread and not a smooth hole.